Bread – Banana or Pumpkin Nut Bread

This morning, I knew getting to church was going to be an ordeal due to the snow and cold, so I got ready quickly so I could help uncover the car and get the preacher to his pulpit. As I was clearing the windshield, I accidentally broke the drivers’-side windshield wiper off, which was, of course, after that car was almost completely clear. So I went back to square one and started on the other car. Once that was clear, it was time to vamoose. We struggled to get through the snowbank left at the bottom of our driveway by the plow. Our neighbor, who was shoveling offered to give us a push, so he got us on our way.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The “hat” on our patio table is growing

Then after a friend drove me home from church so Scott could lead the second service, Jacob and I started the shoveling. This snow is heavy and wet, and the wind cold and fierce. I was attacking the apron of the drive with full gusto when from behind me, I see my other neighbor coming across the street with his snowblower. Was that nice! He cleared most of the heaviest snow at the bottom of the driveway where the plows had been.

And earlier in the week, yet another neighbor had used his snowblower to clear our sidewalk at least once, maybe twice, while we were at work. Sometimes it takes the bad weather, the pain-in-the-neck events to dump neighbors out on the street to pull together and “giter dun.” And I’m thankful for the neighbors who help us out during those times.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I had some banana nut bread in the freezer, ready to share with our kind and generous neighbors. This recipe (p. 66) was one passed down to me from my mother-in-law. Her clever idea was to use one-pound coffee cans to bake her bread in instead of loaf pans. When she was in better health years ago, she used to make oodles of this to give to my husband’s teachers and friends. She shared the recipe with me early on in our marriage, and I’ve made it almost every year since. My sister-in-law taught me the trick of putting old, turning-black bananas in the freezer just as they are to save for banana bread. Take them out, thaw in the microwave for about 30 seconds, and they’re ready to go into the batter. A variation, equally good, is trading the bananas for pumpkin. Yum. 

Please note: there is an error in this recipe. Instead of 2 1/3 c. water, it should read 2/3 c. water.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Banana Nut Bread

I like keeping something like this in the freezer to share during those times when I want to give someone a little something but don’t have time to bake. My mother-in-law’s idea of making lots of batches of this has helped me make sure I have something on hand.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Lucy, up to her haunches in snow

Lucy isn’t perturbed by the snow. As a matter of fact, she seems to revel in it. Lately, she’s taken to going outside and lying in the snow, surveying her domain. It bugs the squirrels, which I’m sure make her happy to no end. Small pleasures.

7 responses

  1. Hard on the backs of us older guys too, just remembering what it was like having to shovel deep wet snow. Liberty, our Labrador Retriever, looked forward to such events also. However, the bread – – or suitably warmed up cookies – – made for a great way to recover.

    • You’re absolutely right, Cindy. I looked back at the original, and it calls for 2/3 c. water NOT 2 1/3. So sorry! If you need any dead bananas to make another batch, let me know. My freezer can supply you!

Leave a Reply

