Salad – Tomato, Cucumber, and Red Onion Salad

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Potato Salad for 100 from Lutheran Women Basement Cookbook

A friend and fellow minister’s wife shared a funny cookbook with me called Lutheran Women Basement Cookbook, and that just seemed too good to pass up mentioning in this post. It has all sorts of fun stories and quips. But today I’ll just share one: another salad, here the Potato Salad for 100–“A Sunday School Picnic MUST!” The recipe actually looks pretty good, doesn’t it?

Speaking of Sunday school, we’re back in full swing after the Christmas break. This Sunday I’m teaching the 3/4 graders at Redeemer. The lesson is about John the Baptist preparing the way. The lessons this month roughly follow the readings of Epiphany. I was privileged to work on helping to write the curriculum for Growing in Christ awhile back with Pam Nielsen at the helm. It was a challenging but rewarding project. One cool feature of Concordia Publishing House’s online tools is a weekly podcast about the lesson, which I’ll listen to this afternoon while I’m cooking.

Tomato, Cucumber, and Red Onion Salad

Onto the recipe: I had a chance this week to make this delicious raw salad. I’m learning that one of the reasons why my cooking is tasting better these days is because a) I’m cooking from our great cookbook, and b) people use a lot more seasonings than I usually do. So I think my cooking is sometimes pretty bland.

That was true of a cucumber salad I make occasionally when I have extra cucumbers. But even with vinegar, oil, and a little salt, it tasted meh. However, if I pair cukes with a yummy hummus or a tasty dressing, like this, they’re great. This calls for red wine vinegar, salt, pepper, olive oil, onion, tomato, cuke, and fresh basil. No big surprises, but all the flavors combine very nicely with a fresh crunch at the end.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Tasty tomato & cucumber salad

Cindy W., the contributor for this recipe helped me compile and edit the recipes. She and her husband joined Redeemer about a year ago, and what a wonderful addition they’ve been! Not only is she an excellent violinist, but also great with graphic design and an all-around nice person. I haven’t had the chance yet to get to know Mark well, but I’m looking forward to it.

5 responses

  1. This recipe for Tomato, Cucumber and Red Onion Salad was the first course at most every meal on our trip to Greece many years ago. My heart is warmed with the loving way you handle each of our submissions (and loving way you handle us.)

  2. I have never had a single dish that Cindy has made that wasn’t Five Star! I look forward to seeing more of her recipes on this blog! Thank you Julie for doing this…what fun!

Leave a Reply

