Soup – Chunky Sweet Potato Soup

Spurring one another on

On Thursday nights, we meet at Redeemer for handbell practice. At our last practice, I noticed how my folder partner always helps me stay on track. Our notes are right next to each other (I play A and B, she plays C and D), and even though I think she more often helps me, on rare occasion the favor goes the other way. We together can figure out a difficult measure, or she’ll help me find a note I’d missed.

It made me think of this verse:

Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching. (Hebrews 10:23-25).

I like this because lately, as I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been needing a lot of persistence to meet my healthy goals. And sometimes when my motivation is flagging, my friends get me back on track, Rita, Cher, Sherry, and Laura especially lately.

images (2)

The weather in Chicago this winter has ground us all down this year. Polar vortexes and snowstorms, one after another, have worn on us all. So I’ve decided to give us all a picture of hope–hope for spring and good things to come.

tulips

Some year, I’d love to travel to the Netherlands to see the tulips. Doesn’t that sound fantastic?

Chunky Sweet Potato Soup

Well, this was delicious (p. 58). As Scott said, it was “savory with a hint of sweetness.” Linda F. accredited this recipe to Good Housekeeping from 2011, and sure enough I found the recipe on the Good Housekeeping website. Since it’s free and available online, I decided to add it. I made some adjustments, which I noted below. It’s quite healthy too–as you can see from the list of ingredients. Lots of good veggies.

  • 2 tablespoon(s) olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped (I chopped mine roughly)
  • 1 medium red pepper, finely chopped (I chopped mine roughly)
  • 3 clove(s) garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon(s) ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon(s) smoked paprika (I used regular paprika)
  • 1/4 teaspoon(s) ground cinnamon
  •  Salt and pepper (I used 1/2 t. salt and no pepper–forgot to add it, but it was fine without)
  • 1 quart(s) lower-sodium vegetable broth
  • 2 pound(s) sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch chunks
  • 2 can(s) (14 ounces each) lower-sodium black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cup(s) water (I left this out)
  • 1 lime, cut into wedges
  • 1 Hass avocado, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup(s) packed fresh cilantro leaves

Directions

  1. In 5- to 6-quart sauce pot, heat oil on medium. Add onion and red pepper; cook 5 minutes, stirring. Stir in garlic, cumin, paprika, cinnamon, and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Cook 2 minutes, stirring.
  2. Add broth, potatoes, beans, water, and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper. Heat to boiling on high. Reduce heat to medium, simmer 15 minutes.
  3. Transfer 3 cups of soup to blender. Puree until smooth; return to pot. Stir in 1/2 teaspoon salt. Serve, garnished with avocado and cilantro, with lime.
Yum!

Yum!

Thank you, Linda, for pointing us to this delicious addition. And thank you for leading our kids at Sunday school. We look forward to a great year!

Leave a Reply

