Bonus post – Oatmeal Scotchies

Rule of Thirds

In addition to working on my writing, this year I’m also taking up a couple of other hobbies. I mentioned pottery before. I’m also going to try to improve my photography skills. I’ve always loved taking photographs, so why not work at getting better?

Bronwyn, my friend and coworker suggested looking into the “rule of thirds.” I found a good description and tutorial here.

The theory is that if you place points of interest in the intersections or along the lines that your photo becomes more balanced and will enable a viewer of the image to interact with it more naturally. Studies have shown that when viewing images that people’s eyes usually go to one of the intersection points most naturally rather than the center of the shot – using the rule of thirds works with this natural way of viewing an image rather than working against it.

So I tried my hand at a couple of photos.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here, I tried to place the vase along the right third of the photo with the sunflowers at the intersecting point.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here, again, I tried to place Yuki’s eyes along that intersection point.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

With this one I tried to put Kenji’s eyes on the bottom intersection point, and have his tail be along that top third horizontal line. I like this last one best, but wish it had been a little lighter. I may try an online photo editor later.

Oatmeal Scotchies

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

These are one of my very favorite cookies. But I only like them the day that I bake them. After that, they get too crunchy for me. I prefer the nice soft cookies.

Here’s the link to the original Nestle recipe. It’s a keeper.

And Lucy loves them–chewy or crunchy.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Leave a Reply

