Soup – French Onion

Sick Days

If having the flu feels like getting hit by a truck, then I guess that’s what I have right now. I’ve slept 16 of my last 19 hours, and still feel kind of woozy. But at least I’m not coughing that much.

My cats are the best companions. So basically having a sick day means I get to hang out with my kitties. And that’s always a good thing.

French Onion Soup

We sat down together around bowls of steaming French Onion soup (p. 21) on Monday of this week. This is another contribution from Jeff W., friend and fabulous cook. I mean, seriously, I doubt if he’s ever burned a single thing in his life or set off any smoke alarms–ever. That is a common occurrence in my home.

Who but the French would come up with a soup made with nothing but onions?

I mean, I understand other vegetables. Take potatoes. Potatoes are delicious. Of course a soup should be made from them. Or butternut squash. Squash would make another delicious soup. Even split peas. But onions?

I’ve had French onion soup before, but never made it. I figured there was something else that went into the soup. I mean, how does it get all brown and cheesy?

Now I’ve figured it out. So, the pan started off with just butter and oil. And you cook the onions and keep cooking them and keep cooking them and keep cooking them until they are carmel colored, hence brown-looking.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESHere are my onions pre-carmel-color.

Then, you add a 1/2 c. of white wine to “de-glaze the bottom of the pot.” Well, I didn’t exactly know what de-glaze meant, but I figured it referred to getting all the brown bits off the bottom. So I did that. Which was handy because then it meant the pot would be easier to wash.

Then I added the beef broth, the rest of the wine, salt and pepper, and that was it. Finito!

On the top, Jeff recommends adding French bread and Gruyere cheese and heating it under the broiler. Well, my broiler is broken, so we had to make do with the microwave.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESBut I think it came out pretty darn good.

Don’t you?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSo maybe I can cook French after all!

Leave a Reply

