Dessert – Double Fruit Fantastique

A Secret Trick

A few of you have asked if I sleep because my posts are published so early. Yes, I sleep. I promise you. But WordPress like Facebook allows users to schedule posts in advance. That’s what I do. I usually write several posts for the blog on the weekend, and then schedule the posts for the weekdays. You can do the same thing with Facebook.

Screen shot 2014-02-08 at 7.25.09 PM

Here’s a screen shot of a Facebook status window. Do you see the little clock on the left-hand bottom corner? If you click on it and set up a time and date, you can schedule a post in advance.

Screen shot 2014-02-08 at 7.38.06 PM

This can be really helpful for businesses, organizations, or other individuals.

For example, for an author who has an upcoming book release, he or she could work backward from the release date and build interest by scheduling posts in advance. Then you don’t have to worry about remembering to put up the post on the day when you’re busy with other things.

It’s a trick I learned at the library. We schedule daily posts to publicize programs, give news updates, and more. I usually work about 10 days in advance with our Facebook account.

Double Fruit Fantastique

I was hosting book club this week, so I made a variety of dishes to serve alongside our discussion of a great book, Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok.

The story is about a Chinese immigrant and her mother who live in abject poverty and work in a sweat shop in New York City. The daughter is brilliant and raises herself and her mother out of deplorable circumstances. I highly recommend the book. You’ll learn why they’re called “sweat shops”–very eye-opening.

I decided to make this dessert from Lynda M. for book club. It’s very simple, and it’s one of those recipes you make in advance and only have to cut when you serve, so no worries about last-minute prep.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The strawberry layer goes in first

Into a graham cracker crust, you put together two layers–one of strawberry yogurt, cool whip, and strawberries, and one of blueberry yogurt, cool whip, and blueberries. I’ll be interested to see how it comes out.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Then the blueberry layer

I tried to make a heart shape on the top, but it sort of turned into a blob. Oh well, still looks pretty good!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

When I made this on Sunday afternoon, the sun was shining and the birds were singing. I saw seeds and greenhouse pots in the store, so we all know spring is coming even though it’s hard to imagine by looking out the window.

One response

Leave a Reply

