Main Dish – Simple Salsa Skillet

Will Rogers

My dad recently sent me an email with a list of quotes from Will Rogers. He was such an interesting guy. His boyish good looks, cowboy antics, and especially his wit and good humor left a lasting influence on America. I love this line:

“Try to live your life so that you wouldn’t be afraid to sell the family parrot to the town gossip.”

It’s similar to a line my husband often refers to in sermons about character–what you do when no one’s watching. It’s a good concept to consider, isn’t it? Who are we when no one’s around? Do we have the kind of character that doesn’t need to have someone watching in order to do the right thing?

And here’s another Will Rogers’ quote (big surprise since it’s coming from me) about cats:

Lettin’ the cat outta the bag is a whole lot easier’n puttin’ it back.

So true!

Speaking of cats, here’s a photo of my always-photogenic Yuki.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Simple Salsa Skillet

I’ve made this dish (p. 59) once before as Kelly Q. had shared it with me previously. I liked it then, so decided to try it again.

Chicken is the main ingredient, along with veggies, salsa, garlic, and cilantro. It’s a great weeknight option as it wasn’t time-consuming.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

The night before I made something similar. We had our third cooking crew meeting at the Elmhurst Public Library this week, and our assignment was to create something from a regional cookbook. My choice was from Martha Stewart’s Martha’s American Food: A Celebration of Our Nation’s Most Treasured Dishes, from Coast to Coast. I loved reading about her selections for the “all-American” dishes, which included an artichoke dip, macaroni and cheese, grilled cheese, fried chicken, chocolate chip cookies, and more.

I chose to make the Steak Fajitas in her cookbook, from the Texas region. The recipe was simple–take skirt steak, rub it with cumin, coriander, and salt and pepper and grill it. Serve with cooked peppers, onions, and jalepeno. But it was sort of blah. Still a good dinner, but I’d look for another recipe, perhaps with more punch.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

So when I tasted Kelly’s Simple Salsa Skillet, I was pleased with the flavor–much tastier than the bland fajitas from the night before. This dish is likely healthier too, using chicken instead of beef and avoiding the tortillas. Thanks for another winner, Kelly!

Leave a Reply

