Appetizer – Artichoke Dip

Artichoke Dip

This is another from Marian F., who–lucky dog–is snowbirding right now, so we miss her terribly. It’s one of those all-American recipes that is a real crowd-pleaser. It tastes better with crackers than with raw vegetables, but those are another option. It makes a big batch, so I’d suggest that unless you have a large gathering planned, you could probably halve it.

I pulled out this ceramic dish to use for serving this delicious dip, which my dear from Pam K. gave me a number of years ago.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Seeing it reminded me of all of our hard work in pottery class. Even though my first attempt at a mug turned out only so-so (there is that giant bulge at the bottom which looks a little odd), we learned how to put handles on our mugs this week. Here’s mine.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThen we learned how to make a small pitcher.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis time we used 2 pounds of clay, which was a little more difficult to work with than the 1 to 1 1/2 pounds of previous weeks. It’s more to control and shape. I seem to have that bulge going again, but overall, it came out okay.

Before you get too excited about mine, here’s the instructor’s pitcher (i.e., how it’s supposed to look):

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe trick is to pull the clay up on the wheel without denting the sides, pushing too hard from the inside or outside, and remembering all of the steps from the week before. It’s a bit like choreography, remembering the placement of fingers, sponge, foot, etc. I can see progress, but it’s slow.

 

 

One response

  1. Loving this Blog Julie! Something to look forward to in the mornings 🙂 You are amazing, I loved today’s post about the Fonz, I grew up watching him too!

    I wanted to leave a couple of hints I forgot to mention in my stealthy brownie recipe in our cookbook. You can skip the splenda and use regular sugar, same amount. I make the entire recipe in the blender/Cuisinart and pour right into the baking pan 🙂 I also typically skip the espresso powder since my consumers have more energy than they know what to do with! For our friends with gluten intolerance, since this recipe has such a small amount of flour, it works well to substitute one of your preferred gluten free flours (like rice flour).

Leave a Reply

