Bread – Macaroni Grill Rosemary Bread

Training

So part of my mountain climbing training involves cardio at 60%, 70%, or 80% of my maximum heart rate. I found a website that helped me figure it out. You plug in your weight and resting heart rate, and then find your maximums.

I have been walking on the treadmill at the maximum incline (which isn’t all that high) for 60 minute spurts with a 7-pound weight on my back. I thought the weight was heavier, but actually weighed the thing and discovered it was only 7 pounds. I added a bunch more books, and it’s 16 pounds now. I’m currently three minutes into my workout and already huffing and puffing. I want to keep doing this as many days a week as I can, in addition to other cardio and workouts.

Ever heard of chia seeds? Yeah, I hadn’t either. But I bought some. They’re supposed to be super healthy and increase your energy. They’re like tapioca but blackish brown. More on those as I experiment later. 

Another interesting health idea: my dear friend Kelly Q. steered me toward this website, Snack Girl’s ideas for fighting her battle with donuts. Sheesh…I can relate. She suggests powdered peanut butter to save calories but still enjoy the flavor. May have to try that.

Macaroni Grill Rosemary Bread

I found an online version of this recipe very similar to Doris H.’s fabulous entry (p. 70) in the cookbook.

Rosemary reminds me of Christmas and Easter. Christmas, because of its piney, savory scent. Easter because rosemary pairs so nicely with lamb, what we love to eat on Easter.

I would amend the recipe a little to make sure it’s more clear. I think when we entered it into the cookbook template, we had to move things around, so here’s a clarification. After putting together the 1/4 c. warm water, pkg. of yeast, and 2 t. of sugar and letting it rest for five minutes, you add the following:

Add 1 Tbsp olive oil, remaining 3/4 cup warm water, 1 1/2 cups flour, 1 1/2 T rosemary and 1 t. fine salt. Combine with spoon, and then knead for awhile before letting it rise for an hour.

At first I was like, uhhhh, I don’t really know how to knead bread. But then, I realized I do the same thing with my clay during pottery classes. Before we throw the clay onto our wheels, we have to “wedge it up”–the instructor’s term. Still never have figured out what a wedge has to do with it, but hey, who am I to judge. This involves kneading the clay to make sure there are no pockets of air or air bubbles. So when I went to knead my bread, I was like, hm, this clay seems kind of mushy compared to usual. And then I realized, ohhhhh this is bread not clay. I forced Jacob to take a picture of my hands.

So I am now an official hand model.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The last step should be to divide the dough and bake. In the last 15 minutes of baking, brush the tops of each loaf with 1 T olive oil, 1 T rosemary, and sprinkled kosher salt.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And wow was this delicious!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Doris H.’s quiet presence at Redeemer does not go unnoticed. A new couple to the church has commented to us about how she’s always making them feel welcome and at home in their new church. So, thank you Doris, for that, and for this great recipe!

Leave a Reply

