Main Dish – Nicole’s Yummy Taco Salad

Frozen–but thawing–last weekend, at least

Over the weekend, I went on a brief walk–brief because it’s still stinkin cold. But at each of the catch drains on my street, I stopped to listen to the delicious sound: water trickling. Actual liquid water! Outside! It was fantastic.

And then I started to notice these cool ice formations as the snowdrifts are melting.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And more

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Still more

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

They reminded me of miniature waves on a beach, frozen in a moment.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And of course, I had to take a photo of the buds on the magnolia down the street.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Nicole’s Yummy Taco Salad

This was an interesting recipe because it forced me to try something different. What? you may say, what’s so different about taco salad? Well, in truth, it’s still a fairly basic taco salad recipe. But the difference was the type of taco seasoning. Sue N. directed users to try McCormick’s Cheesy Taco seasoning.

photo 1-10

She suggests this because, in her note, she mentions that most kids seem to like it better than “regular” taco seasoning. I don’t have any particular eaters in my house, but I can definitely see how that might be the case. Here’s how the package looks. I’ll warn you: there are about 40 different taco seasonings to choose from at Jewel. Taco Bell, McCormick’s, Lawry’s. But I finally spotted it. 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here’s how it looks cooked up in the ground turkey, with the seasoning added. It certainly smelled cheesy!

photo-45

Add to this a bag of salad mix, grape tomatoes, cheese, and voila! Taco Salad.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

This makes quite a bit, so I put together the lettuce, tomatoes, and cheese, and then added the crunched up tostada shells and put them in the plastic bag for tomorrow night. I also kept the meat separate so it wouldn’t make the lettuce soggy.

And it was, indeed, yummy! Thank you, Nicole for this delicious addition to the cookbook!

sunroom

I’m back in my sunroom after a winter of being forced out due to the cold. I cleaned off my desk, which looks neater than in this photo, and I’m ready to write, thankful for this beautiful space.

Leave a Reply

