Salad – Sushi Salad

Peek-a-Boo Kitty

Dewey, our rascally and rambunctious cat, loves to play games. At bedtime, when I’m brushing my teeth, I call “Dew-ey, Dew-ey” and he races up the stairs because he knows it’s time for our game.

He gets in the bathtub and hides behind the shower curtain and we play peek-a-boo while I’m getting ready for bed.

Here he is, acting uninterested in the bathtub. But then…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

He gets up and peers at me from behind the curtain until finally, he gets really close…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

…and attacks my hand.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

It’s really just a game of tag because all he does is jump out of the tub and taps my hand.

Cats love routine, especially if it has to do with (a) food, or (b) play. And Dewey, still being young, adores playing games. So every night, you’ll find me brushing my teeth and playing peek-a-boo with Dewey.

Sushi Salad

What an awesome idea for a recipe! This sushi salad, we learn, from its subtitle in the cookbook, “unrolls all the flavors of a sushi platter and tosses them together” (p. 16). Brilliant!

FYI – wasabi paste comes in a BOX, not a jar. I was looking for a jar, and it took some searching before I found it. Otherwise, most everything else could be found in the Asian aisle of the grocery store. Seems like it should be obvious because toothPASTE comes in a box too. Duh. Anyhow, here it is.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I used quinoa instead of rice and light agave nectar instead of honey (both reasonable substitutions, I think). Here are the rest of the ingredients for the dressing. After combining them, it smelled like sushi!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here’s the quinoa and cucumber. I discovered I didn’t have a single carrot in the house (weird!) so I had to run out to the store to get some.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Added the carrots…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I found this crab meat at Jewel.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

It’s a full pound, so hooray! I get to make this salad AND another batch of the crab bisque soup.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

The nori strips (roasted seaweed, it states on the package) add a nice garnish to the top!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And here’s how the salad turned out. Sushi is one of our favorite foods, and this was reminiscent of it, for sure. Jacob and I both thought we could have added more wasabi paste, but we like things with a little spice. What a great idea and wonderful addition to the cookbook. Thanks so much, Cindy W.! Maybe I’ll even get brave and make my own sushi rolls someday!

3 responses

  1. This makes me want to eat this salad in the back yard during summer. 🙂 Sushi rolls, called Kimbob in the Korean language, is a common picnic food in Korea. They are time consuming but could be a fun youth project. Many young people from Korea have sent pictures home to their parents of them making sushi for the first time in our kitchen.

  2. Hi Julie,

    Hate to be a pain, I tried logging onto ‘managing subscriptions’ but it won’t let me. would you mind taking this off of this email, jwolfe@mp360tax.com and just keep it to my home, which it is now coming to. Thanks!

    • Hi Julie – I am not sure if what I just tried to do will solve the problem or not, but I deleted the invitation to your previous email address to try to remove that from the feed. I’ll keep fussing around with it and see if I can make sure it’s changed.

Leave a Reply

