Bread – Grandchild’s Strawberry Bread

A small disaster

I figured out this week that I have 198 recipes yet to cook. My plan is to finish all of the recipes by Dec. 1 (or whenever Advent begins), and that means I need to cook at least five dishes per week. So I may slow down my blog posts to just 5 out of the week instead of 7. That may help me in the coming week because it’s going to be a busy one.

On Friday while I was making the caramel crisps, I reached for my container of Splenda, and like a dry snowstorm, powder flew all over the kitchen. Splenda was everywhere. Of course Lucy got in the game, but I didn’t think a mouthful of Splenda would be good for her. Got out the vacuum and started cleaning.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Oh my.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Not only did it get all over the stove and counter, it also landed all over all of my canned goods in the cupboard.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

So I had to clean most of the kitchen. But at least it forced me to neaten up and clear out the cupboard.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here it is all neat and clean.

Ay yi yi. It reminds me of once when Jacob was about 2 or 3. I was on the phone with a friend–a little too long. He was playing in his room with my old Little People city set (remember those?). He found some diaper powder in the closet (I don’t know why I had never thrown it out), and decided to make it “snow” all over the little village. It did look like it was snowing, that’s for sure. I walked in, and wow–had a surprise. Aren’t vacuums a wonderful invention?

Grandchild’s Strawberry Bread

I’m not sure why this is called Grandchild’s Strawberry Bread. Maybe because it’s simple enough for a grandchild to make? Or delicious enough for even the pickiest grandchild to eat? Either way, it’s aMAzing! It reminds me of the dough of a good banana bread, but instead of bananas uses strawberries, which I don’t ever remember seeing before.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

It’s a basic sweet bread dough, with flour, sugar, cinnamon, etc., and–surprise!–strawberries!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Super easy to make.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Wow–it is scrumptious!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

2 responses

Leave a Reply

