Salad – Garden Pea Salad

Hello, Backyard

The snowmelt continues, and each day more ground is revealed behind the cruddy piles of dirty snow. As if to kick off one of the first warm days, Dewey, our rascally cat escaped into the backyard this weekend. The very back of our yard is quite low and usually wet, so thankfully he didn’t venture far because to do so would’ve required him to get wet. I brought him in kicking and screeching, and proceeded to wash his paws in the utility sink, which of course required more kicking and screeching. Then to further add humiliation to his crankiness, I wrapped him in a towel and dried his kicking, screeching, scratching, and biting body.

Oh Dewey, what will we do with you?

Garden Pea Salad

But for now, let’s talk about peas.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This recipe calls for early young peas. I found a can, but then wondered where salad bars get those peas you put on salads. You know: bright green, a tiny bit crisp? That’s what I really wanted for this salad, but have no idea where to find those without shelling raw peas myself.

Anyway, the recipe calls for 1/4 diced onion, but I’m not a fan of raw onion so I added my minced dried onion. I figure by tomorrow at lunchtime, the onion will be somewhat re-hydrated and just the perfect tang to this recipe.

I added a blob of mayo, and then the chopped hard-boiled eggs.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I don’t know about you, but I could eat a hard-boiled egg every day of my life. Just thought you should know that.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And here it is ready to go in the frig for chilling overnight.

This is one of those recipes you see at every single church potluck, but I never knew how to make it. So thank you, Patti, for adding it to our book!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

