Vegetables – Marinated Brussels Sprouts

What I’m reading

Over the winter, I’ve been reading the diaries of women on their covered wagon journeys in the middle of the 19th century. One particular set of diaries is published in 11 volumes, called Covered Wagon Women. My favorite volume so far is Best of Covered Wagon Women. The diarists have a short entry on most days of their overland journey, detailing the sights and sounds along the way. What I find really fascinating is the gumption of these people who knew very little about the west, and yet had the courage to pack everything they owned into a wooden box and walk across the country. Yes, I said walk. Only the driver would sit in the wagon. Unless you were sick, aged, or a baby, you put one foot in front of the other.

I’m writing about it, of course. And having lots of fun doing it. More on my project later as it develops.

I’ve come late into my love of all-things historical. I never enjoyed history classes in school, so my guess is I inherited my love of history from my mom, who was once a volunteer tour guide at the Molly Brown House in Denver, Colo. My mom and dad took my brother and I (I think just Gary) on the Narrow Gauge railroad when we we young. We went to lots of museums.

The two periods in history that are most intriguing to me right now are the mid- to late-19th century in the American west, and the 1920s Dust Bowl era.

Marinated Brussels Sprouts

I figured since these were a vegetable, they’d be healthy (duh), but didn’t realize how high in vitamin K and C they are. Here’s a site that lists the nutritional info. Brussels sprouts were cultivated in Belgium–hence the “Brussels” in the name. And, I just discovered that I’ve been spelling the name wrong my whole life. They are BrusselS sprouts, not Brussel sprouts. Who knew?

Anyhow, as we all know, we should eat more vegetables, and what better way than to try out all of the veggie and salad recipes in the cookbook! This one was super easy. I think I prefer fresh brussels sprouts because these frozen ones had quite a bitter taste. But fresh, roasted brussels sprouts are quite delicious without anything but a little olive oil, salt, and pepper.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here are the cooked, marinated Brussels sprouts!

Leave a Reply

