Salad – Shrimp and Cabbage Salad

J. Patrick Lewis’ Fabulous Advice

I recently read through my notes from my poetry writing workshop last fall, and came across this great piece of advice. J. Patrick Lewis, the former U.S. children’s poet laureate said that “good writing begins and ends with strong, personified verbs.”

He pointed to this fabulous haiku by Basho.

peony

The bee didn’t fall out of the peony. He didn’t walk, crawl, or creep. But he staggered–giving the sense that he was drunk with the sweet nectar. The perfect verb!

Great writing soars with active verbs but falls like dead weight when loaded down with to be and the passive voice.

Shrimp and Cabbage Salad

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Slicing my cabbage. I had a head of cabbage already, so I used it instead of buying the napa cabbage called for in the recipe.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here’s the cooked shrimp along with oranges.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

It is even more delicious than it looks!

This recipe reminds me of a story I saw on the news about a culinary computer program that pairs unusual tastes together. I wouldn’t have thought of putting shrimp and cabbage together, but this is not only delicious but also satisfying. I had it with the tortellini soup, and wow–what a great meal!

 

Leave a Reply

