Cookies – Monster Cookies

Noah Movie Review

noah
I saw Noah this past weekend, the blockbuster-type movie with Russell Crowe and Jennifer Connelly. Since people have asked what I thought of it, I’ll share some here. Let me start by saying that I wanted to like this movie.

The good: Not much. However, one thing I thought was intriguing was the portrayal of a pre-literate, pre-civilized culture. The stories of the faith were passed down by oral tradition. In the movie, God “spoke” to Noah through dreams, images, and weather events. But even in this primitive time, the Bible tells us that God actually used words to communicate with Noah–perhaps a fact that could have assisted the screenplay writer. More on that in a second. However, I liked the portrayal of this pre-biblical, pre-literate world.

Also, Noah and his family were shown reliant upon the earth, living in tents, in clothing made of natural fibers. I thought all of this painted a picture of these ancient times well.

They also show the ark approximately the correct size. The length of the ark approximates the size of two tennis courts end to end. Yeah, it’s that big. And this movie portrays that well.

The bad: Oh, where to start? It was just so bizarre. I mean, you take an inherently dramatic and cinematic story and you’d think you wouldn’t have to add much. But, you’d be wrong. This movie portrayal added the following:

– an environmental-friendly Noah, who saw the mission of saving the world from the ravages of industrialization and warfare, rather than saving the world from sin. I could’ve tolerated that, if it weren’t for…

– having a stowaway on board (of course the main bad guy) who conspires with Ham (Noah’s son) to kill Noah. I still could’ve tolerated that if it weren’t for…

– giant transformer-like rock creatures who helped Noah build the ark. These were referred to as The Watchers, some sort of fallen angels. I still could’ve tolerated that, if it weren’t for…

– Noah turning on his family and deciding God really meant that the flood should kill off all of humankind. I mean: whaaaa? That’s where it got truly bizarre. And this is what I meant about the screenplay writer should have taken a cue from the bible. The reason why Noah turns on his family in the movie is because he’s confused about what God wants him to do. His thinking becomes skewed, and he believes that with the flood, God intended to rid the creation of humankind in order to preserve the “innocence” of the animal and natural world. But this “plot twist” was so skewed that it ruined the movie for me.

Instead of making Noah confused, add some other drama. I mean, this must have been a horrendous experience to go through. Show that. Even show Noah renouncing God for making him take on this terrible task. That I could have tolerated. But this other storyline just made me scratch my head.

The ugly: I expected the movie to not follow the biblical account, and you know what, if the storytellers want to show a portrayal of Noah that is extra-biblical, hey, it’s a free country. But so many things were confusing, unsettling, and downright odd about this movie that it bordered on silly. My husband also found it slow and boring.

I’d recommend seeing it on DVD, but don’t spend any money on it.

And now on to my recipe for the day.

Monster Cookies
Well, these are ridiculous (p. 99). What better name for a cookie than to proceed it with: “Monster”! Oh my…probably not a good bet when I’m trying to get better eating habits in place. However, I will send most of them on to my niece and nephews since I’m not going to be able to do a care package for them later in the month due to Easter.

In the pastor’s home, Holy Week/Easter and Christmas are the busiest times. Why, you may ask, is the pastor’s family busy along with the pastor? Well for one thing, we go to all of the services. Some days it feels like a duty, but hey, that’s probably true of everyone from time to time. Most days, however, especially during the high feast days, it’s a privilege. I’m especially looking forward to our Easter Vigil, on the evening before Easter Sunday. More about that later. These times are also busy because in addition to the extra services, we still have work and school to manage in addition to the Easter breakfast preparations, serving the Easter breakfast, helping with other last-minute prep for services, and more. It’s all good stuff but definitely busy.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Adding peanut butter to this recipe makes it delectable!

Now back to the cookies. These are ridiculously monstrous. It’s a basic chocolate chip cookie dough, but instead of adding chopped nuts and chocolate chips, we go with monstrous chunks of chocolate and pecan halves. These are basically super sized chocolate chip cookies. I mean, only in America, right?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I’ve been working on some short poetic versions of fairytales, and this makes me think about Jack and the Beanstalk, which I need to continue working on. Foolish Jack and his squandering ways eventually gets him in the hands of a giant. And said giant would surely love these cookies!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Thank you, Sheree G. for this delicious recipe! They really are monstrously good!

Leave a Reply

