Cookies – Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

I don’t know about you all, but the older I get the more I feel like I’m turning into Mr. Rogers.

The first thing I do when I come home is change into my “house sweater” (which means that it’s more covered in fur than my “going out sweaters”). I take off my outdoor shoes and put on my slippers. I feed my animals. I say hi to my “neighbors” (you all).

I mean, what’s not to like about Mr. Rogers? Here’s a great quote from him:

“When I was a boy I used to think that strong meant having big muscles, great physical power; but the longer I live, the more I realize that real strength has much more to do with what is not seen. Real strength has to do with helping others.”

– See more at: http://www.fredrogers.org/fred-rogers/#sthash.SMHGtbTZ.dpuf

But I must admit: his puppets always looked a little scary to me.

I actually saw Mr. Rogers once in Pittsburgh, his hometown. I was near Carnegie Mellon Univ. and saw him crossing the street in front of my car. It was pretty cool!

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

This week in the Cooking Club at Elmhurst Public Library we will be discussing “heritage recipes.” This is right up my alley. I love history and am finding a new love of cooking as I work through my current cookbook project. I’m going to bring two things. I’ve decided I could bring recipes from my family, but instead, I’m going to bring recipes from my church families.

The first is Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies. I got this recipe from Leona Boltz, a lovely older woman at our former church in Pittsburgh, PA, probably around 15 years ago. I remember she brought them to a living nativity we hosted at our church. It was freezing that night, but we still stood out in the cold trying to show passersby what the first Christmas might have looked like.

Inside, we had hot chocolate and cookies, and these chocolate chip cookies were ones I enjoyed that evening. I asked Leona what made them taste so good, and she said, “it’s the peanut butter, of course!”

Ever since then, I’ve adopted them as my go-to favorite cookie recipe. Here they are in all their glory:

20140404-182328.jpg

I sometimes double the batch, but this time I didn’t, and look how many I made! I’ve got plenty for Jacob’s stash, and have more to share with others.

20140404-182630.jpg

4 responses

  1. Man, you really know how to hurt a guy! Just a few evenings ago after a choir rehearsal at St Andrew UMC, I broke my own rules and ate a chocolate chip cookie being offered for birthday-goodies night. Wow, it was good! But lace it with a dab or five of peanut butter and my heart goes all pity-pat. I’m sure yours from your friend’s recipe were really scrumptious.

Leave a Reply

