Main Dish – Macaroni and Cheese

Squrrels and Daffodils

I stepped out of my front door yesterday and spied a squirrel, looking sheepish, roaming around my flower bed.

“Yeah, that’s right,” I told him as he scampered away to the oak tree. “Stay away from my tulip bulbs.”

“Look,” I told him. “I really don’t appreciate that you ate–ate–so many of my bulbs last fall. You’re not getting these as well.”

He eyed me from his tree branch.

“You know it took me a couple of days to get all of those bulbs in the ground.”

I thought I was being reasonable.

“I don’t mind you eating a couple of them, but 10 or 15 was going too far.”

He scampered up higher on the tree trunk.

“You ate all of the bulbs out of this planter for example,” I said, pointing to the dirt-filled, no-green-growth-whatsoever planter.

“And now you’ve got the bird seed you steal from the backyard,” I reasoned. “So, move it.”

It was at this point that I noticed the guy across the street walking his dog, looking at me funny.

Do I talk to squirrels? Yes.

Does it work? Well, it seems to, given the fact that I now have many fabulous plants coming up.

20140406-112956.jpg

20140406-113003.jpg

20140406-113050.jpg

There are also a lot of holes. These are evidence of my squirrly buddies.

20140406-113139.jpg

Macaroni and Cheese

This dish was a fan favorite at youth group last year when Julie W. made it for a crowd. Kids were literally scraping the bottoms of the pans to get the last bits of yumminess. This year, I think we’ll have a slightly smaller crowd for our badminton tournament because it’s on the tail end of spring break and families are still returning from their Florida vacations; however, with Holy Week beginning next Sunday, I thought that it was best to plan our event for April 6.

It’s no wonder this dish tastes delicious. In it is heavy cream, whole milk, and three kinds of cheese. Phew! That’s a heck of a lot of dairy! I think I’ll have to sit this one out and instead have my spaghetti squash with spaghetti sauce over the top.

20140406-131417.jpg

It takes a little while to assemble. I made one pan without meat and one pan with diced ham. Hopefully it’ll go over well during youth group!

20140406-203035.jpg

The kids loved the mac and cheese! They especially liked the pan with the ham added.

20140406-203043.jpg
And here is the church, looking pretty in the fading light.

20140406-203052.jpg

3 responses

Leave a Reply

