Some changes ’round here

Palm Sunday

Happy Palm Sunday / Happy Holy Week!

image

Today is the first day of Holy Week, the high-point of the Christian liturgical calendar. We’ll sing “All Glory, Laud, and Honor,” wave our palm branches, and praise our King with hosannas. The kids will process with their palms, and lay them before the altar or take them back to their pews and fold them into crosses. We’ll read the long account of the passion narrative from one of the Gospels.

image

I’m no expert, but I think it’s somewhat unusual for congregations to own the scarlet paraments shown here, especially for Palm Sunday and Holy Thursday. On Friday, the altar will be stripped, and then at the Easter vigil and on Easter morning, the altar will of course be decked in white.  Doesn’t the altar look beautiful? We have an awesome altar guild!

 

Turkey Breast Sandwiches

Over the next few weeks, I am going to get serious about shedding some winter pounds, which may mean I am not able to stick with my daily posts from the cookbook. What I’m going to try to do is continue making recipes from the cookbook but adapt them to be healthier. We’ll see how it goes.

I’ll still post a lot, and I’ll still get through the cookbook somehow, but for now I’m going to stray a little from my project so that I can start making some better, healthier food choices.

Thanks to Nancy O., she got me onto this great idea of cooking up a turkey breast and then putting it between two of those sandwich thins, along with veggies and spicy mustard for a great lunch sandwich. Here’s what you do:

Buy a turkey breast.

Defrost it if it’s frozen.

Stick it in the crock pot.

Add 1/4 c. water and seasonings.

Cook it all day.

The end!

Super easy, and both of my men approved of the sandwiches I gave them last week with this set-up. Try it!

Leave a Reply

