Main Dish – Olive Chicken

Squirrels

Last week I told you about my talking to squirrels. Now I have photo proof of the little critters’ antics to try to prove that I’m not crazy(er). This past weekend, during the stretch of beautiful weather, I caught our little darlings eating the tulip bulbs right out of the container.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSo here’s the container where the tulip plants were growing. He got into the planter, dug up the bulb, and proceeded to EAT them.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

So bold! So brash! Of course, I sent Lucy out to the yard to scare the little guy out of his reverie.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Olive Chicken

Like I mentioned last week, I am trying to eat healthier and lose some weight, so I’m altering some recipes in order to stay within the healthy eating guidelines I’m using.

The recipe calls for bone-in chicken pieces, but in order to lighten up the dish, I decided to use chicken breasts. Also, instead of using 1/2 c. olive oil, I cut down the amount to 2 T. Also instead of honey, I used Splenda.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I found a zester last weekend for $7.99 at Home Goods. This worked perfectly–much better than my old one. You zest it on one side, and the plastic holder collects the zest–even with a measurement.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI also found a juicer for $5.99 at Home Goods. Great deal–it works beautifully!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESHere’s how the chicken looked going into the oven.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And it came out like this:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I served it with couscous and cooked spinach.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

It ended up being a delicious, healthy meal!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This is another fabulous recipe from Anna W.–a great cook and great friend. Thank you, Anna!

 

2 responses

  1. So did Lucy get her assigned task done? I certainly hope so. Squirrels here in Colorado are very territorial (maybe they all are) and if they succeed once in their mission, they are even tougher to convince not to mess around.

Leave a Reply

