Side Dish/Veggie – Mother’s Spinach

Decision Day

In my cookbook project this year, I’ve posted about 110 times, still shy of the half-way point, but making steady progress. I figured out that I have 158 recipes left to go in the following breakdown (because I know you’re all dying to know):

13 appetizers
17 Soups and Salads
16 Veggies
35 Main Dishes
16 Breads
34 Desserts
24 Cookies
3 This and That

I figured out how many weeks until Dec. 1, which is about 31, plus or minus a few days. So I’m still on track to finish my project of cooking through the entire cookbook in one church year if I make an average of 5 recipes per week.

I’m due to send cookies out in care packages soon, so maybe I can knock out a couple of cookies that way. I’ve got a lot of dessert and cookie recipes to get through, but with my current shape-up goals, I am not sure how this is going to work.

In the meantime, Decision Day for Jacob is nearing–on May 1. This is the day most colleges use to find out who of their admitted students will be attending. We requested a refund from one school and placed a deposit at another. It’s all coming to a head, especially with graduation only about 3 weeks away.

We make lots of little decisions every day. Will I do the laundry today or tomorrow? Will I drink lemonade or water? Will I work on my poetry or vegetate in front of the TV?

But then come along bigger, weightier, farther-reaching decision, like where to attend college, who to marry, or even whether or not to cook all the way through a cookbook. 🙂

Some people freeze up when confronted with a decision because of fear: what if I make the “wrong” choice? What if things don’t work out?

The good news is that under God’s grace, when all things are equal, it’s tough to mess this up. Jacob will grow and thrive at whichever of his colleges he’s considering. That doesn’t mean he might not change his mind later, but God can use all of our experiences–the happy, joy-filled times as well as the scary, uncertain times–for our ultimate good.

I find great comfort in the verse from Jeremiah 29:11: “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'”

Our decisions, like all other aspects of our lives, are in God’s hands. And that is very good news.

Mother’s Spinach

This dish starts with bacon. I used turkey bacon, and it cooked up nicely in the pan.

20140426-180945.jpg

After the bacon is cooked, you leave the fat in the pan (not much for turkey, but still enough to coat the pan), and then add the spinach. This was about half a bag of fresh spinach and half a container of fresh baby kale.

20140426-180956.jpg

Does anyone else find it a little unsettling how much spinach cooks down? I mean, it looks like a TON of food, which then becomes…
20140426-181007.jpg
…this

Interesting for this recipe is to add nutmeg. I don’t think I’ve ever used that in a bacon dish, but wow it gives a nice flavor! Give this a try–it’s a great side dish!

Any time I can add spinach to the menu, I do. It’s one of the most healthy veggies and is easy to add to salads or other dishes.

This recipe comes from Ginny A., a wonderful long-time member of Redeemer, whose health sadly does not allow her to be with us very much. But we thank her for this great addition to the cookbook!

Leave a Reply

