Main Dish – Pizza Casserole

Spotify

If you don’t know about Spotify, you really should try it out. It’s an online, streaming music source–and it’s all for FREE and legal! You can search for artists, and with very few exceptions, you’ll find what you’re looking for.

For example, I was in a country mood tonight, so I searched for the Nashville TV show soundtrack. Sure enough, at least 100 songs are available. My favorite artist on the show is Scarlett O’Connor, and there’s a playlist of about 15 of her songs from the show. Awesome! Right now I’m enjoying “Change Your Mind” and earlier played “Black Roses”–both are awesome.

You don’t need to pay for anything unless you want to access the site outside of a wifi signal. I’m almost always somewhere with wireless access, so I don’t pay for the premium version.

Pizza Casserole

We actually have two pizza casserole dishes (p. 54) in the cookbook. Both are similar–each has a pasta base with cooked ground beef and onion with some tomato sauce or soup and seasonings mixed in, and then topped with cheese.

I decided to use whole wheat pasta, 93% fat-free ground beef, and fat-free mozzarella to lighten up the dish. Didn’t miss the calories–and the flavor was good too.

20140504-185521.jpg

The only thing I might change in the future is to use pepperoni (turkey) or sausage instead of ground beef. This is a nice basic flavor, which I’m sure picky eaters could tolerate. I like things on the spicy side, though, so of course I added crushed red pepper flakes!

20140504-185723.jpg

Another option is to make the sauce (and I’m watching sodium content these days too), and serve it over cooked and shredded spaghetti squash, which I love. That’s what I’ve pictured above.

20140504-185827.jpg

Delightful!

Leave a Reply

