Guest Post from Kelly Quinn – Cherry Glazed Salmon

Guest Post from Kelly Quinn Cherry Glazed Salmon

Happy Mother’s Day to all the readers! I’m going to be filling in for Julie again, as there will be many festivities in the next few weeks associated with her son’s graduation. At least our local high school had the good sense to schedule graduation for the weekend after Mother’s Day.  I remember graduating from college 24 years ago on Mother’s Day that year!

Mother’s Day has become a very special holiday to me over the past 7 years since my son was born.  I usually try to head to Pennsylvania to visit my mom and rest of the family, but they are enroute back from Florida as I write.  My first official Mother’s Day, I flew with my 8 month old son, who ended up getting his first ear infection in the middle of the night, of course.  My parents were so supportive during that first scary ER visit at 3 am.

We had a family picture taken the following day in our matching white shirts and khaki pants.  My younger brother showed up without his white shirt and my father, who never leaves home without his undershirt, literally took the shirt off his back and gave the undershirt to my brother to wear for the photo.

photo 1-13

 The next day, which was Mother’s Day, my mom and I drove to my brother’s house to watch his children as both parents were scheduled to work.  It was good training on how to juggle multiple children and also gave me new appreciation for how my mom managed 3 children.  One of our clever charges thought it would be fun to lock us out of the house and the other decided the gravel on the driveway would make a tasty snack.

I guess what I love about Mother’s Day is that it is a celebration of the gift God has given us in our mothers, grandmothers and also in our children.  Sure, I love the roses, special meals, cards, but the blessing of a family is what really matters.

photo 2-12

I thought I’d pass this bonus recipe along I just adapted for Courts Plus, Elmhurst Park District’s Health club.  If you live in Elmhurst and are a member, you will see this again in our e-newsletter.

Grilled Salmon with a Cherry Glaze

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

Summer is almost upon us, and I’m excited to get the grill out and try some new recipes!   Here is one that I have adapted from the popular All Recipes site to use on a cedar plank.  You can buy cedar planks at your local hardware store and also in bulk online or from Costco.  Be sure to plan ahead when you are going to use the plank, it needs to soak for at least 30 minutes or longer before you put it on the grill.

photo 3-10

Fresh cherries are coming  into season and would work best with this recipe.  If you can’t find them or want to try this recipe later in the year, I found canned pitted cherries that despite their anemic appearance, worked well in the recipe.  I would not recommend substituting cherry pie filling for obvious reasons!  This recipe was delicious when we pared it with asparagus (which could also be grilled on the plank with olive oil and balsamic vinegar) and could be served over brown rice or with roasted red potatoes.

Ingredients:

Cedar plank

1/4 cup margarine or unsalted butter

1/3 cup balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoons honey

1 tablespoon cornstarch

 1/3 cup cold water

4 (5 ounce) salmon fillets, about 1 inch thick

salt and ground black pepper to taste

  • Soak cedar plank in sink or bucket filled with water for at least 30 minutes-overnight
  • Place cherries, butter, balsamic vinegar, and honey in a saucepan over medium heat, and bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer, and cook until cherries are softened and the mixture has reduced, about 10 minutes. While the sauce is simmering, whisk the cornstarch and cold water together in a small bowl, and stir into the cherry mixture. Bring back to a simmer, stirring constantly until thickened, about 5 minutes. Remove sauce from heat.
  • Sprinkle salmon fillets with salt and black pepper, and place them skin sides down on damp plank.  Place plank in middle of grill and close lid
  • Grill the salmon for 1 minute, then open grill lid and spoon the cherry glaze generously over the fillets.
  • Grill until salmon is opaque and the glaze has baked onto the fish,  10-12 minutes. Reglaze with cherry sauce once or twice more during cooking. For slightly rare salmon that’s still barely pink in the middle, check after about 5 minutes. Let salmon stand 1 minute before serving with extra cherry sauce.

–Julie here: Well, this sounds delicious, doesn’t it? Thank you so much to Kelly for–as you put it, having my back as well as my blog! I have such great friends who never fail to help me out! Thank you Kelly!!

Leave a Reply

