Breads and Rolls – Double Cranberry Bread

Sometimes it takes an engineer
So last summer, our gas grill bit the dust when a plastic piece that tightens the nozzle on the propane tank broke. I tried gluing it, but that didn’t work. The seal between the hose to the grill and the tank was just not tight enough. Scott and I puzzled about this for several months. I couldn’t figure out how to do anything except replace the whole she-bang. I have been grill-less for about 8 months, and was drooling jealously over Kelly’s great cherry glazed salmon recipe but feeling boo-hooey because I couldn’t make it.

So it occurred to me the other night to ask my dad to take a gander at it. It took him about a millisecond to figure out that the hose could actually be removed, along with the broken nozzle thingy and replaced. We went over to our local Ace Hardware today, and a helpful employee pointed us in the right direction. Bingo! We purchased the replacement hose, and will try to put it on the grill tomorrow when (hopefully) it’ll be warmer.

Sometimes it takes an engineer to fix a broken grill! Thanks Dood!

Double Cranberry Bread
This recipe gets its name from the cranberry almond cereal that goes in the batter, along with the chopped dried cranberries.

I modified the recipe slightly. Instead of all white flour, I substituted 1/4 cup ground flax seed. Also, instead of making bread, I made muffins. They needed about 20 minutes at 375. I don’t think I’ve ever used cereal in baking before with the exception of corn flakes for topping egg casserole, and oats, which can be used in a variety of dishes.

The recipe only calls for 1 teaspoon of sugar. I thought it needed a little more sweetness, so I added a couple of tablespoons of sugar and one of splenda.

20140516-193420.jpg

And here’s how they came out. I served them with vegetable soup for lunch. Yum!

20140516-193427.jpg

Leave a Reply

