Bonus Recipe – Diabetic Banana Bread

Why You Need Bible Study Ladies

Shortly after we moved here to Elmhurst, about four and a half years ago, I joined a women’s Bible study, hosted by Kelly Q. I was nervous about going, being the new kid in town, but that only lasted a few minutes. The 5 or 6 ladies welcomed me with open arms and I’ve been a regular ever since. We keep it pretty simple, going through a Bible study based on a book of the Bible and just work through one or two pages of the workbook each time we need.

We use the series “God’s Word for Today” from Concordia Publishing House, which we all really like. Right now we’re finishing up the book of Ephesians in the New Testament. We always start our time with reviewing some of the verses from the Bible and talking about them.

Then Kelly hauls out her big blue book to write down prayer requests. This is the time when we can update each other on everything going on in our lives from the past week–the highs, the lows, the in-betweens. The soggy basements, the upcoming trips, the medical difficulties, the stresses and strains of everyday life. We know each other well. Everything we share is kept in confidence, and through it all, we support and help each other.

I can’t tell you how much their support means to me. When I have houseguests, they’re the first ones to offer to bake, cook, clean, or otherwise help me. When someone is struggling financially, we offer a gift card to Jewel. When someone needs support, we take a meal over.

One of the writers from my writing workshop this past March said her women’s group is called the Mary Martha Circle. I love that name, which comes from Luke 10:

38 As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. 39 She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. 40 But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things,42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

So, we are like Mary, sitting at the feet of Jesus, learning from Him, and we are like Martha, helping others with their needs.

These women are like the sisters I wasn’t born with, but I now have through Baptism and fellowship in the church. Most recently, around the time of Jacob’s graduation, they paid for me to have a cleaning lady come and get the house ready, baked for me, prayed for me, and then helped me work through all of the emotions associated with this transitional period in my life. What treasures they are for me! Thank you, ladies!!

And if you don’t have any Bible study ladies, get some ASAP!

Diabetic Banana Bread

Nancy O. was kind enough to bring over some fruit salad and banana bread for the graduation weekend to help out with feeding my family. That was so nice of her! She made this bread, and it really was great. Some banana breads (like the one I’ve added to the cookbook) are really so rich they’re almost like cake. But this one is just slightly sweet. She substituted some of the white flour for wheat and it came out great.

 

 

One response

  1. I rejoice with you in the power of Christian women in your life. What a blessing this Christian fellowship can be for all–for the giver and the receiver.

Leave a Reply

