Main Dishes – Veal Scallopini

Swimming and More
On Sunday afternoon, before the clouds rolled in, I took a couple of hours to go to East End Pool for some exercise. It was super crowded, but I did my best to share lap lanes. I’m not a strong swimmer. I never perfected the crawl. I can do the movements decently enough, but I can never figure out how to breathe, which is a bit of an issue since my face is in water.

So I settled on the backstroke. I’m sure I’m mostly doing it wrong, but hey, it got me across the pool a bunch of times. The water was cool, but on a day that was nearly 90 degrees, it was perfect.

Not only have I been watching my diet, but I’m also using a weight watchers tool called ActiveLink. It’s kind of like Nike Fuel or other activity monitoring devices. By just wearing the thing, it tracks how much activity I’ve added to my day. There are these nifty lights on the device that show me if I’ve done 25%, 50%, 75%, 100% or more. It’s pretty snazzy.

It’s really helping me to see I’m much too sedentary. My “butt in chair” rule doesn’t work so well for writing when I need to move. So I’ve been using my treadmill desk more. But mostly I’m just taking the time to walk, swim, run, or bike more. The L-Bs are falling off, so I guess it’s all working.

Veal Scallopini
Since I didn’t know what “scallopini” meant, I looked it up. It sounds Italian, but I’m not sure of its origin. From what I gleaned online, it appears that it’s just a method of pounding meat thin and then sautéing on both sides. Veal or chicken are general used with the scallopini method. I found veal cutlets (actually named veal scallopini). They’re relatively cheap (about .3 lb. for about $3) considering it’s veal. The recipe calls for 2 pounds, but I just got the equivalent of a pound.

20140602-194727-71247721.jpg

The first direction in this recipe is something I’ve never seen before. You heat up the “sauce” ingredients (oil, seasonings, and lemon juice) and then set the cutlets in the sauce for 15 minutes with the heat off. I guess it’s sorta like marinating, but on the stove? Anyhow, I did that after pounding the cutlets thin.

20140602-195549-71749429.jpg

After that, you add the sauce back, along with some broth. It cooks for awhile, getting tender.

20140602-195727-71847445.jpg
This is pretty old school–fry up a veal cutlet with some cholesterol-full sauce and sauté it for awhile. But I lightened it up in a variety of ways–by using olive oil, whole wheat flour as breading, etc. It was really tasty! with full, rich flavor!

Just for fun, I’ll throw in another twinning photo of Yuki and Kenji. They’re just such a perfect pair. For anyone thinking about getting a cat, don’t. Get two!

20140602-194257-70977518.jpg

Leave a Reply

