Breads and Rolls – Rhubarb Muffins

Moist Weekend
Well, the start to our weekend was rather soggy. Rain Friday night made Lucy (our dog) freak out and try to squeeze under our bed around 5 or 6 a.m. She’s a 90-pound golden retriever, and has in the past squished herself through the 8-inch opening under our bed, only to get wedged under there and unable to free herself. It would be humorous if it wasn’t so annoying to have to lift up the entire (very heavy) bed to get her out.

Because we were soggy anyhow, I went to water aerobics Sat. morning, taught by the lovely and talented Kelly Q., my blogging buddy! It was something different than I’ve been doing with the “land” group exercise classes. I liked the change of pace–and Kelly always does an incredible job.

Then I started in on the shopping to outfit Jacob’s dorm room. I’ll have to chip away at it little by little. Here’s the pile so far.

20140712-131514-47714389.jpg

Thanks to Kathryn for all of her suggestions about buying lots of socks and undies and mildew-resistant towels in case he decides doing laundry is optional.

On Friday evening, I got the mission trip troupe together for a reunion. We had a nice time looking at a slide show of our photos and reliving some of the memories. I wish I had more time and energy to get the kids together more this summer, but between work, writing, sending Jacob off to college, and various trips, I’m doing well to keep my head above water.

Poor Lucy struggles to get up and down the stairs. I haven’t figured out a way to help her down the stairs yet. She won’t let me carry her front half, and if I try to carry the back half, she rushes forward and about drags us both down. So for now she is doing it herself, but it takes her awhile to get psyched up. In the meantime, this morning, while she was gearing herself up mentally, the cats took the opportunity to try out some doggy food.

20140712-132337-48217162.jpg

(Don’t worry, though; they only ate about 3 pieces before she showed up)

P.S. I’m listening to Maroon 5’s “Daylight” on Spotify today.

Rhubarb Muffins

 Well, these muffins (p. 71) were easy to put together. The only tricky part for me was the topping, which is included melted butter, cinnamon, and sugar. When I mixed it together, it all sort of congealed into a lump instead of being nice and topping-ish. So I put on the topping in clumps and then sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon over the top.

They smell delightful!

20140713-171209-61929406.jpg

Leave a Reply

