Breads and Rolls – Beth’s Zucchini Bread

Hobo Doors and Fellowship Hour
On Sunday morning, several people donated to the delicious offerings in the after-service gathering. It’s so nice to do this.

When I was growing up, I remember the coffee and donuts in fellowship hall being my favorite thing about church. In order to indulge, we had to feed a quarter or two to the plastic container before we kids were allowed to take a donut from the overflowing pile. As I remember, my parents wouldn’t give me that quarter every Sunday, but I’m sure I begged endlessly, wearing them down.

My mom was the children’s choir director, so on Thursday afternoons and Sunday mornings, I was captive to her schedule, her prep and clean-up time keeping us there for an eternity. While I waited, I’d roam around the church basement where I was secretly convinced homeless people were hiding out. A favorite exploring spot was the stage where a heavy draping curtain hung all around the sides and back. Hiding inside the dark folds, you felt like you could never be found, an Alice-in-Wonderland-rabbit-hole of church basements.

These little eccentricities make every older church fun to explore. At Redeemer, at least two places make great hiding spots for Sardines–a bell tower (yes, a real bell tower with a working carillon), which can only be reached by two staircases and a ladder, and a room where the organ pipes are hidden behind the altar. The latter is the location where it is reported an actual homeless person lived for some time in the 1980s or 1990s. The music director at the time reported that she’d hear strange noises at times, but could never quite figure it out. In honor of that, the kids in the youth group made a sign which hung over a rarely used door in the youth room, called the “Hobo Door.” I’m still a little hurt that someone decided to take the sign down and discard it. I mean, the kids spent actual minutes creating and giggling about that sign.

Anyhow, I’m not quite sure how I got from donuts to homeless people, but there you go. So at the fellowship hour after church this past Sunday, we had a bunch of great recipes from the church cookbook. I believe Nancy O. and Karen O. made all of these. Thank you, ladies! I’m accepting any and all help to get through this cookbook project!

Beth’s Zucchini Bread
So here’s a photo of Beth’s Zucchini Bread from the Dunlop family.

20140727-224141-81701231.jpg(And aren’t Karen’s little signs so adorable?)

I was so glad to get this submission because it was not long after Beth died that we put together the cookbook, and I thought it was a nice remembrance of her to include it. She was a lovely woman, and one I wish I’d had time to know better before she’d passed away.

I sat down with Kelly Q. over the weekend, and we made a plan for getting through the rest of the 112 recipes. She’s taking on a BUNCH! I’m excited to have help to get through it. We’re hoping there are some great gardeners out there who have massive zucchinis they’d like to donate since there are at least 10 zucchini recipes–some side dishes, some bread or dessert recipes.

I wonder who first thought of putting zucchini in bread. I mean, it’s sort of surprising, isn’t it? It adds a nice moistness to what might be an otherwise dry bread.

20140727-224141-81701292.jpg

Leave a Reply

