Baked Zucchini Squares

Julie here–
Novels in Verse
As I’ve mentioned a few times over the last few months, I’m working on a project set in 1852. A family travels from Indiana to Oregon Territory, and my main character, Emma, travels away from her childhood home, her best friend, and her grandparents to a new life of constant walking, dust, and difficulties.

IMG_0377.JPG

I wasn’t sure what form the book would take until after speaking to my agent today who helped me clarify and understand exactly what I’m trying to do. It helped me enormously. One of his suggestions was to read, read, read in this genre. So I went to the library this afternoon and got about 10 historical novels written in poetic form. First on my reading list is Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai.

Baked Zucchini Squares
This is one of the few savory zucchini bread recipes I’ve run across. Much of the time zucchini bread-type recipes are sweet. This one, however, has onion, parmesan cheese, basil, oregano, and bisquick. I decided to halve the recipe since I didn’t need an entire 9×13 pan of the stuff.

IMG_0379.JPG
This is a tasty side dish that would be paired nicely with a piece of pork or fish.

One response

Leave a Reply

