Helping Hands and Carrot Zucchini Bars

IMG_1244

Kelly here:

I live in an amazing community, made up of many wonderful circles of friends.  This is a great comfort, with my family being out-of-state.  It is so reassuring to know that in so many areas there are many wonderful friends who have my back and are willing to share their helping hands.

This past week, I said goodbye to my “silver Celtic civic”, as I nicknamed it years ago.  Apparently, after 12 years of shuttling our family around it decided it was time to make a quick exit, as it managed to lean into a truck that crossed its lane of traffic.  My dear yoga instructor and friend, Dana S., who has also experienced the trauma of a totaled vehicle two times in the past, came up with this non-judgemental description.  I so appreciated this and am starting to find some much-needed peace.

My bible study sisters have showered our family with meals, my busy physician friend brought a delicious bowl of fruit and shoes for my daughter to wear for her uncle’s wedding.photo 1

A lovely neighbor and mother of 5 brought us chocolate dipped fruit, and another friend sent my son a birthday treat and brought her “tween” over to entertain my kids.  Another busy physician/neighbor picked my kids up from school under the guise of a “play date” so they would not worry while I was in the ED after the accident. My husband’s college friends showed up for a “barn-raising” to help put a roof on the kid’s club house.  Friends have invited me on healing walks/talks to enjoy fellowship, sunshine and coffee!

IMG_1235 IMG_1239

There are many blessings even in the midst of the anxiety and sorrow I experienced.  My children were safely at school (and not in the car), my husband was not traveling this week, the silver Celtic Civic lived a long and productive life, and my injuries were limited to soreness and bruises.

photo 2

Carrot and Zucchini Bars

I made these delicious bars found on pages 75-6, a few weeks ago and brought them to our weekly Hospice meeting.  There were many ingredients in these tasty bars, including cranberries and orange peel.  They also had a wonderful frosting I lightened by using margarine and cream cheese.

I had another enormous zucchini from my bible study and Sunday school friend, Naomi P, that yielded 11 cups of shredded goodness.  I made a few batches of zucchini bread to share and have numerous other bags in my freezer to use.

IMG_1187

The baked product took on a strange appearance with all the wonderful colors from the oranges, carrots, cranberries and zucchini.

IMG_1188

Luckily, the frosting hid their multicolor hue.  Thanks to Cheryl D for another delicious contribution to the cookbook!

IMG_1190

One response

  1. I am so glad to hear you were not hurt badly. Sometimes it seems the emotions take longer to heal. There are so many “what ifs” that rack your mind. You are in my prayers that you will heal both body and soul quickly!!

Leave a Reply

