Cookies – 100-Year-Old Gingersnap

Julie here-
The Cookbook Project

A few of you have been asking about how the project is going. I’m happy to report that we have 72 recipes left to get through and about 10 weeks left in the year to finish. This sounds kind of bad, if my math skills are up to snuff, leaving about 7 recipes a week. (And let’s just admit the fact here that it’s certainly possible my math skills are not up to snuff. As a matter of fact, my dad caught my scientific error yesterday. Thanks, Dad!)

Anyhow, with 72 recipes left, it’s still a pretty big chunk to deal with before Dec. 31. And in the spirit of full disclosure, I should say that my project will most likely be 12+ months. I started sometime in mid- to late-December 2013. Technically, I should be finished by the beginning of Advent, which begins usually in late November or early December. However, I doubt I can finish the project in just 5-6 weeks. It’s going to be hard enough to finish by Dec. 31.

The good news, however, is I have a lot of awesome helpers. After this coming weekend, my fabulous cooking friends will have plowed through about 20 of them.

On Sunday, Oct. 26, we’ll celebrate my 3rd favorite holiday in the church calendar, Reformation. Reformation gives Lutherans an excuse to sing the great Luther hymn, “A Mighty Fortress is Our God” and celebrate the Lutheran principles of “Faith alone, Scripture alone, Grace alone.”

For the last two years at Redeemer, we’ve hosted an Oktoberfest meal following the service, and thanks to the many volunteers and great chefs we have in the congregation, this year is no different. We’ve got the event practically down to a science now.

George will make his delicious brats (boiled in beer), spatzle, and cucumber salad. Jeff will bring his amazing roast pork and potato pancakes. Kevin will supply the adult beverages, and Bruce, as always will help with set up, paperware, and all of the other little details I’m bound to forget. I’ll get the youth in gear to help with setup and clean up. We’ll also make 4-5 pans of apple crisp.

After we eat, the cake walk will begin. A cake walk, if you’ve never heard of one before, is sort of like musical chairs with treats as the prizes. The cake walk goodies will be donated by many different individual bakers in the church–and I’ve asked a bunch of people to make things from the cookbook. We’ll see how it all turns out.

100-Year-Old Gingersnap
Since I’m such a sucker for history, any recipe with “100-year-old” in the title is bound to get my notice. One other recipe in the cookbook, DiDi’s pound cake has also stood the test of time. Desserts are awesome that way.

It’s said that gingersnaps are called that because of the ginger in the recipe, and because they are a “snap” to make. I didn’t cut mine into shapes (suggested in this link), but instead just made small walnut-sized balls, rolled them in sugar and baked them.

I asked one of our youth group girls, Syd, to come over and help me. She was very deliberate about making sure her cookie dough balls were the same size and spaced exactly evenly on the cookie sheet. It’s little wonder when I cook that things don’t always turn out great since my method is usually more like: let’s get this sucker done as quickly as possible. I seem to have little patience for getting it just so in the kitchen. But Syd was an awesome helper.

IMG_0440.JPG

Just look at these perfectly even cookies baking in the oven!

IMG_0441.JPG

One response

  1. You and Syd really know how to hurt a guy … all those precisely spaced and shaped cookies are simply awesome-looking here in the Mile-Hi City suburbs. I’ll bet they taste even better than they look. When will someone finally figure out how to Email or Txt samples? Gotta put that on the to-do list.

Leave a Reply

