Desserts – Applesauce Raisin Cake

Julie here–
The Joy of Apples
One of my favorite childhood memories was making applesauce with my mom and grandma. Grammie’s applesauce was chunky and super sweet–the best way possible!

IMG_0453.JPG

We made applesauce because of the enormous apple tree growing in my grandparents’ backyard in Boulder, Colorado. Here I am pictured with Grandpa under the apple tree. We’d collect the apples (mostly from the ground, but picked some too), peel them, and cut them, always watching out for worms. Then they’d be cooked and mashed and sweetened and made into sauce. Pure heaven.

A few years back, when Jacob was about 3 or 4 years old, I took him apple picking. We went to a farm in rural Indiana, and set to picking, filling up several bushel baskets of ripe delicious fruit. That was the fun part.

Peeling, chopping, and cooking pounds and pounds of apples, mostly by myself, was a huge chore. Jacob was too young to really be of much help and had, I’m sure, quickly reverted to playing with his cars while I slaved away in the kitchen.

It seemed like a good idea, but without the help of my mom and grandma, it just wasn’t the same. Still, we had loads of canned applesauce that winter, which I fed to Jacob for the first three or four years of his life–oats and unsweetened applesauce every morning. I was determined to make sure he was a healthy and well-nourished child. I guess I mostly succeeded.

So apple-picking time of year holds for me a lot of sweet memories. Hope it’s the same for you!

Applesauce Raisin Cake
So there’s a running debate, apparently, in the Stumpf household about the best way to prepare this dessert (p. 74). John suggests a double-layer cake to give more surface area for the delicious caramel icing. Barbara suggested that I make two “half” cakes for the cake walk. Barbara’s plan wins out because we need to make sure there are enough cake walk donations. 🙂

This recipe seems pretty easy–plump up raisins, mix together a basic cake batter, alternating dry additions with applesauce, and whip it all together into a delicious fall dessert. It’s definitely easier to make than an apple pie or crisp which requires the peeling, cutting, coring, etc.

That, by the way, is the task on hand for Saturday afternoon’s preparation for our Oktoberfest at church. I’m going to work with the youth to make 6 – 9×13 pans of the stuff for our big dinner on Sunday. Hopefully I bought enough of everything.

Anyhow, this cake looks amazing. I must admit I licked the spoon after the cakes were in the oven, and the batter was yummy–apple-y, spicy (with nutmeg, cinnamon, and allspice), and delicious. The caramel sauce on top, I’m sure, adds to its yumminess!

IMG_0456.JPG

One response

  1. Your thoughtful memories of Grandpa and the beautiful picture of him and you in their back yard brought tears to the eyes of this old man. God bless you for your kindness. That tasty applesauce we ate at Grammie’s house and elsewhere will be kept high on each of our respective lists of sacred memories.

Leave a Reply

