Desserts – Lemon Cheesecake Pie

mom

So I was thinking the other day about the weird phrases moms say to kids.

“I don’t want to hear anymore of your guff!” What exactly is “guff” anyhow? Dictionary.com defines it: “noun, Informal. 1. empty or foolish talk; nonsense.” Okay, so that makes sense. And then there’s this, which says that “guff” is actually in the Talmud–Jewish writings. Huh. I’m not sure what to make of that. 

“Get your rear in gear!” This is a personal favorite, not only because it gets lazy kids moving, but also because it rhymes! Bonus! Interestingly, I found that the Colon Cancer Coalition uses the slogan with a two-fold message: to encourage people to be part of a 5K race and perhaps also to literally get their rears in gear by getting a colonoscopy!

mom2

So true! I’m less than half-way there

And there’s another related saying, “Get off your duff,” as in “get moving and help me!” This one makes me wonder what exactly is a “duff,” but again, an online dictionary comes to my aid, defining “duff” simply as “buttocks.” Well, that seems clear enough.

Here’s one last mom chuckle for you!

mom3

Haha!

Lemon Cheesecake PieLEMON CHEESECAKE PIE

Here’s some info from Barbara S., the baker of this recipe: This Lemon Cheesecake Pie (p. 82) has a bit of a cheesecake taste but has the lightness of a lemon custard pie.  The graham cracker crust was made according to the recipe.  I melted the butter in a 1 quart Pyrex measuring cup then added the crust ingredients.  The lemon filling was mixed in the same measuring cup and I used my trusty egg beater to go through each step. This was easy.  After I filled the crust, I sprinkled on the 1/4 cup of graham cracker mixture–giving the pie a finished look.

Leave a Reply

