Desserts – Pistachio Cake

Julie here–with deep thoughts on pistachios…

So my husband and I have this ongoing debate about pudding, surrounding the topic of flavor. I seem to go in spurts of eating the same foods over a period of months, and finally when I get sick of the cycle, start something new. Right now I’m in a pudding phase. I get the sugar-free boxes of pudding, mix with fat-free milk, and add a dollop of fat-free cool whip. May sound boring to you, but for me, I get almost as excited as the cats around dinnertime when pudding-time rolls around each day.

We were in a boring chocolate and vanilla phase for awhile, but then hubby requested butterscotch. Okay, great. I’m a sucker for anything having to do with caramelized sugar, so butterscotch it was. Now he’s decided butterscotch is boring, so requested banana cream. Fine. I bought him his banana cream, along with my favorite pistachio. When pistachio night rolled around, well, you can imagine Mr.-I-Want-Banana-Cream had to suffer through it.

But when pistachio anything rolls around, I’m eager to jump on the bandwagon. I got a fabulous Halloween/fall care package from my mom today, and guess what was inside? Not only yummy oriental mix from Jerry’s Nut House, but also a bag of pistachios. Yum.

Karen O. was on a baking spree last weekend, and really lent to my cooking project. Thank you, Karen!

Here are her photos of the pistachio cake.

IMG_0600

Ingredients look pretty simple!

IMG_0602

It’s already looking good!

IMG_0603

And look how pretty it turned out!

IMG_0604

This was one of the donations for the cake walk at our Oktoberfest last Sunday. The event (including the cake walk) raised about $1000 for the youth group’s mission efforts–a nice start to the fundraising for the year.

Thanks, Karen, for a great contribution!

Leave a Reply

