Cookies – Pecan Sandies

Julie here-
New Frontiers
As you all know if you follow this blog, I’ve been working on a project, a middle-grade novel in verse about a girl’s family traveling by covered wagon along the Oregon Trail in 1852. Last week, fortuitously, along with visiting my in-laws, I discovered that Independence, Missouri had a lovely frontier museum. I saw online that they also housed a research library, which could be accessed by appointment only.

I toured the museum on Monday morning, enjoying learning little bits more about the journey, the hardships, the trail, the provisions, and more. And then I inquired about visiting the library the following day.

IMG_0538.JPG

The curator and educator of the museum graciously allowed me to visit on Tuesday morning, and I spent a lovely couple of hours reading, researching, and finding answers to various questions.

IMG_0537.JPG
It was great to learn more and spend some time walking in the footsteps of these brave travelers.

Pecan Sandies

Well, the lovely and uber-talented Ann H. made these cookies (p. 100). Did you know that her father is a former pastry chef? The secrets that guy hides away… She came over with Jenny a couple of years ago and we rolled out pastry for about 10 apple pies. I’m not only a reluctant cook, but also a fearful one. But I loved how she and Jenny just dove in, not worrying about germs or the mess or any of the other problems that plague my baking.

Anyhow, Ann was kind enough to give it a go with two of the recipes from the cookbook. Do you see how: a) desperate I’m getting as we’re winding up this project, and b) wonderful everyone is to jump on my bandwagon and bake for me? I have it pretty good!

I counted yesterday and found that there are 62 remaining recipes, so I may have to scare up another round of bakers. Or perhaps I could arrange an intense baking marathon with my youth group. And then we could have a bake sale!

Anyhow, back to the pecan sandies.

So Ann brought up a question about when a recipe calls for chilling. Typically I find with cookie dough that chilling overnight is best. Is that your experience too? If not overnight, then at least 4-6 hours to really get the dough cold.

However, if I’ve not baked the recipe before, and I’m all psyched to make cookies that day, the last thing I want to do is wait 5-6 hours before baking! That’s why it’s always helpful to read the recipe a couple of days ahead of the game.

Because she didn’t have as much time as she hoped for chilling, the cookies spread out a little more than they should. Still, they look pretty great, I think.

IMG_1780

Thank you to Donna H. for another great recipe!

Leave a Reply

