Side Dish / Dessert – Hot Pineapple Casserole

Julie here:

Hot tea might just be the perfect antidote to the gloomy dark days of late fall and early winter. The weather lately has been unseasonably cold, and a bit gloomy as well with a bunch of cloudy days. Thankfully, however, we haven’t gotten much snow yet.

IMG_0578.JPG

But tea? It surely helps, doesn’t it? I once toured Celestial Seasonings in Boulder, Colorado. It was an interesting tour, for sure, seeing big rooms with their piles of tea leaves. Of course, Twinings declares that it has 300 years of experience in the tea-making business. And they certainly know what they’re doing! I bought a package of the Lady Grey today. Love it! It’s a tad less intense than Earl Grey. It’s fantastic.

Pineapple Casserole
Hooray for Nancy O.! She was a cooking machine on a Saturday a few weeks ago! Not only did she make two of the delicious desserts in the cookbook, but she also made this pineapple casserole (p. 37), her own dish to accompany ham.

Here’s a bit from Nancy, the cook and contributor, herself:

Hi Nancy here, and who would Nancy be?? Well it is the Nancy of the 5 pounds of fudge, page 96. And while on that topic let me add that there was a very important ingredient missing from recipe and that is 12 oz. of sweet chocolate. I used the German sweet chocolate and I have to say I make it every Christmas and my family and friends really look forward to it. What a treat to make it in the fall and again for the holidays!

I think I know why my two healthy friends avoided the Pineapple Casserole on p. 37. That would be butter, sugar, eggs and white bread.  In defense of this recipe, it makes a delicious side dish to be served hot or cold with ham.  Two of my dearest friends also claim credit for this dish, but since I’m writing this, it’s  mine.  I serve it with cornish game hens for a family dinner to celebrate a daughter’s birthday.

Anyhow here it is in all its pineapply splendor!

IMG_0576.JPGThank you, Nancy!

 

Leave a Reply

