Buttermilk Bars

 

Kelly Here:
These delicious bars from page 92 were a contribution from Joanne H.  Joanne H. was kind enough to give me some pointers on the recipe over the phone on the crust for the recipe. Two cups of flour were missing from the recipe in the cookbook- I was so glad to know this before I had another dietary disaster on my hands!  I actually needed closer to 2.5 cups to make the dough stiff enough to form for the crust.

20140824_105500

Joanne H. was kind enough to pose with us during the fellowship hour in the summer… miss wearing those sundresses now!

 

We had a lot of fun making this recipe.  Similar to the scalloped salmon preparation, I put the pecans in a plastic bag and let the kids crush them with their fists.  A great way to get frustrations out over the return of the Polar Vortex, the day we made these it was 15 degrees with below zero wind chill!

 IMG_2012

Here is the crust before I poured the buttermilk/egg/cinnamon mixture over top to bake in oven.

IMG_2014IMG_2017

Here it is in the oven.  Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture of the finished product, that I sprinkled with powdered sugar.  They were delicious and liked the crunchy crust with the nuts!

 

Leave a Reply

