Appetizers – Hanky Pankies

Random Tidbits

1. I ran across an article listing 15 foods you should add to your diet in 2015, which I thought might be of interest. Lychee, Lollipop Kale, and plantains may soon be coming to a restaurant–or kitchen near you. It’s worth skimming through.

kale

2. Also, my dad sent me this funny video about table manners and using our portable devices at the dinner table. You’ll like it; trust me.

3. Speaking of older technologies (you’ll see what I mean once you watch the video), I talked to one of my students this week who had never heard of the telegraph or morse code. She is from Seoul, so I tried translating the words into Korean. Nope. Didn’t help. After demonstrating dots and dashes, SOS, showing pictures of telegraph machines, she finally sort of got it.

4. Last week at my ESL tutoring, one of my Chinese students was eating a package of chicken feet and offered me a bite. Awww…that was so kind of him!  You can probably guess that I graciously demured.

chicken feet

Hanky Pankies

This appetizer (p. 5) comes from Donna H. It’s a bit of a multi-step process, but the end product is a tasty rich quick bite for company. It’s a mixture of cheese and sweet sausage which is served on top of rye bread.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a8b/62079469/files/2014/12/img_0622.jpg

Here is the sweet sausage cooking with the velveeta:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a8b/62079469/files/2014/12/img_0624.jpg

Ready to go on the bread:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a8b/62079469/files/2014/12/img_0625.jpg

And the finished product:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a8b/62079469/files/2014/12/img_06101.jpg

Nancy O., who is a star cook and such a good friend that she made not 1 but 4 (!) of the recipes in the cookbook, put together this little treat for book club this past week. Everyone agreed that it was a tasty addition to her fabulous spread.

Leave a Reply

